• Syrafills Media

Third Lunar eclipse of 2020

The people Worldwide are witnessing the third lunar eclipse of 2020 on July 4th. After experiencing the spectacular solar eclipse last month, however, this will be the penumbral lunar eclipse, which is hard to see the moon.



This is also considered as "black moon" lunar eclipse. The lunar eclipse will start at 11.07 pm EDT on July 4(8:37 am IST on July 5) and reach its peak at 12.29 am EDT on July 5 (9:59 am IST on July 5). The eclipse lasts for 2 hours and 24 minutes.


People in certain regions will be able to experience this lunar eclipse. It also coincides with US Independence Day which is good news for US residents as they are amid the people who will get to witness this celestial phenomenon.


A penumbral lunar eclipse is when the Earth blocks some of the Sun's light from directly reaching the Moon and the outer part of the Earth's shadow, called the "penumbra", covers all or part of the Moon. This type of eclipse is harder to spot as the penumbra is fainter compared to the dark core of the Earth's shadow called 'Umber'. Because of this, a penumbral lunar eclipse is sometimes mistaken as a full Moon.


As per NASA, as there will be a full moon at 12.44 am EDT on July 5 (10:14 am IST on July 5) and will be the first full Moon of summer in the US, the Algonquin tribes used to call this full Moon the Buck Moon.


But this lunar eclipse is not visible to India. However, people of North America, South America, South/West Europe, Africa, Indian Ocean, Pacific, Antarctica, and Atlantic will be experiencing it.


The first lunar eclipse of 2020 was in January, followed by the second in June, making it the third lunar eclipse for the year. Unfortunately, Indians are unable to see the eclipse.


Report By:

Sindhu Mangalweda

Journalist

Syrafills Media




13 views

Subscribe to Our Newsletter

  • White Facebook Icon
  • Instagram

© 2020 by Syrafills Media & Research Private Limited.